My Brief Foray Into Christianity Has Ended: A Confession.

Confession time: I’m hanging onto my “Christian faith,” such as it is, by a thin thread. Teen Challenge was a therapeutically and spiritually illuminating time for me, and I met many wonderful and influential people.

Nonetheless, I have now spent twelve months imploring God for a confirmation; something that would clarify and solidify not just the reality of his existence and nature, but by extension establish that “personal relationship” which is so incessantly flouted by other believers.

These things have not happened. And I have tried goddamned hard, pardon the french. At most I have felt what the poet Goethe eloquently articulated as “blessed longing.” It’s as if this personal God may exist, but he’s calling from far off over a desolate and windswept waste. In times of duress my longing manifests (metaphorically) as a hand outstretched in the darkness. But no one has taken hold. Putting it mildly, this to me is troubling. There seems to be nobody there.

By “confirmation” I do not mean an unambiguous theophany or mystical episode. Indeed, something so overwhelming would eradicate the need for faith altogether.
But given that God is described as personal, and that a relationship with him is presumably possible—provided that one approaches him via channels prescribed by the orthodoxy—is it so unreasonable to expect something that goes beyond a warm fuzzy feeling whilst sitting in a pew? My experiences at church have left me feeling awkward and alienated. My attempts at prayer feel absurd when I reflect upon the logic of petitioning an omnipotent being for personal favours. I am sickened by the hypocrisy I see in myself and others; particularly those who profess an intimate collusion with the all-mighty: “This is God’s opinion on this matter.” Most of all, I cannot help but feel morally outraged when I am told that God loves us—notwithstanding the children born with HIV, the torture, the rape, the genocide, the bigotry and avarice that floods this broken world.

I want to believe that goodness lies at the heart of things. But the Christian explanations I’ve encountered lately have begun to seem merely like filmsy excuses garbed in pseudo-sophisticated theological jargon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Brief Foray Into Christianity Has Ended: A Confession.

  1. tjustincomer says:

    In your “about” it says your from Ontario. Is that where you currently preside? I don’t think I can give much advise, seeing as I’ve also had struggles in this area. I’ve found that the biggest evidence comes when you live with others in community, and if God is not real and true we perish. If you have ability to come to the States and stay for a while, feel free to come live with my wife and I. The ultimate expression of the reality of God is the resurrection in the life of the believer, and not in some sort of ethereal and cute “personal relationship”. It is found when we pour out our lives and hearts for one another.
    Grace and peace

    • Ikkyu says:

      Hey, thank you for the reply. I’m likely moving to London, Ohio for the summer, actually, to work on a farm. If you reside in that general area, it would certainly be a meaningful meeting!

      Love,
      Will

  2. violetwisp says:

    Really interesting post, I’ve never heard someone express approaching Christianity in such a way. This is a great observation: “My attempts at prayer feel absurd when I reflect upon the logic of petitioning an omnipotent being for personal favours.”, especially if said being created you to want to ask for those personal favours …

  3. hang in there…you are light….loved by the Father of lights and the Son of light. Jesus said, “I am the light of the world” AND he said, “You are the light of the world” Arise and shine 🙂
    so….I send you the true light that enlightens every man! John 1:9 (I think)

    • mike and brandy says:

      what the heck is that supposed to mean? are you a New Ager or just an Old ‘Gnostic’?
      -mike

      • Ikkyu says:

        Neither, actually. I get the impression I’ve rocked your theological boat. What in particular do you take issue with here?

  4. mike and brandy says:

    The whole you are light thing sounds very new age and or gnostic. I’m not sure it really goes well with the quote from the gospel of john. Sorry for the intrusion. Didn’t mean to ruffle feathers.

    • I am a child of God and a follower of Jesus, the Christ of God who came to me in my darkest hour and baptized me with his Spirit and fire and then later sent Jesus to manifest himself to me and say, “Come to me you who are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest” I was weary of religion and I was heavy laden with fear, worry, stress, depression and wanted to die. Jesus saved me as he is the true light and his God and Father is love and is light and Spirit and Truth.
      How easily you condemn when the message Jesus gave to the world is God is Love and our Father, and he loves the world and human beings so much that he sent the true Light, Jesus. “The true light that is already shining” 1 John 2:8 and “This is the message we have heard from him (Jesus) and proclaim to you, that God is light and in him is no darkness at all” John 1:5. If we say we are in the light but hate our brother, mock, condemn, think the worst of, then we are in the darkness still (1 John 2:9). “The true light that enlightens every man was coming into the world…all who receive him, who believe in his name, he gives power to become children of God” John 1:9, 12.
      Why do you despise Jesus’ light? His way, truth and life saved me from the darkness and he transferred me from the dominion of darkness into the kingdom of God. “I give thanks to my Father who has qualified us to share in the inheritance of the saints in LIGHT. He has delivered us from the dominion of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins” Colossians 1:12-14. I forgive you for calling me names; I only answer to one name: beloved of Jesus and our Father who is above all and through all and in all (Ephesians 4:6). May God bless you and bring you into his light of Truth. Jesus is the way, truth and life. He saved me, sent his Spirit to purify, refine, redeem, forgive, change and transform me, circumcise my heart, renew my mind, and reconciled and brought me to his Father and I am forever grateful and humbled.

      • Ikkyu says:

        Whoa. Where am I being condemning or ad hominem? I wasn’t responding to your initial comment but the other person’s. Wait. Am I involved in an argument here that has nothing to do with what I wrote? Haha, God bless you both.

      • Oh, I am so sorry for the confusion Ikkyu, I was speaking and referring to Mike of mike and brandy not you! God bless you!

    • Ikkyu says:

      Did Jesus not say that we are the light of the world? I think that’s what she was referring to. And that’s actually from the synoptic gospels, not John. Either way it’s a claim that can be interpreted in myriad ways. Are we merely dust and sin, or is there something within us, however dim, that contains a divine spark? The obvious answer to that is anything but New Agey; quite the contrary. It requires that we take responsibility as representatives of God, or Christ if you like. Gnosticism wouldn’t affirm this; the New Age, whilst partial to vague mystical statements, shuns the uncompromising self-honesty that is indispensable to true spirituality: mystery and humility, not arrogant certainty. And don’t argue with me on THAT point! 😉 haha.

Leave a comment